šŸ 3 Tips for Better Pasta

Luciano Vizza
3 min readJul 14, 2020

We love pasta in our family. Itā€™s comfort food at its finest. Growing up, when we went to my grandparentsā€™ house for Thanksgiving and Christmas, we didnā€™t have turkey or ham. We had pasta. And it was amazing! (Okay, we did at least have pumpkin pie šŸ„§. We arenā€™t that un-American šŸ˜‰.)

So while my wife and I try to eat pretty healthy, pasta is always in the rotation. Through trial and error and learning from cooks smarter than me ā€” like my grandfather ā€” Iā€™ve figured out a few tips for making better pasta.

#1 ā€” Salt your pasta water. And then salt it some more.

When you cook pasta, the water should be as salty as the ocean. And trust me that takes a lot more salt than you think. But itā€™s a crucial step that ensures your pasta is flavored from the inside out. And just for my health-conscious grandmother reading this (sheā€™s going to live to be 117 I swear), donā€™t worry so much about your salt intake either. Most of the salt you add will go down the drain with the water.

So how much salt do you add?

Honestly, I canā€™t tell you for sure because I donā€™t know how much water youā€™re cooking it in and what kind of salt you are using. So the best thing to do is to taste your water. Start with about 1 tablespoon of salt per quart of water. Then grab a spoon and try itā€¦afterā€¦

--

--

Luciano Vizza

On a mission to cook better. Sharing what I learn in a weekly newsletter: https://saltsearsavor.com